All that I’ve ever wanted was a cure and all that I’ve ever been given was a pill. They gave me small pills in pale yellow shades or bright light blues. They gave me large flaming orange horse pills that the tiny amount of water in those paper cups could barely wash down. There were many various pleasing diversions that came from them like the vivid lucid dreaming and the tingle through my spine and while I have enjoyed them all over the years none of them will or could ever make me any better. No matter how hard they try to make me forget or distract me I am still left wanting to be cured.

I’m the first to openly admit that when first listening to Jaded Hipster Choir I didn’t quite get it right away. Not that it was bad or uncomfortable music by any standard it just seemed on first listen that it wasn’t my flavor. However after doing the write up for the Kumon Plaza album re-release I thought I should give them a second chance due to The Joe and Franny being featured on a reworked vocal version of Hans Kruger and I was pleased that I did having since become a fan of their work. Over the last day I’ve been sitting with the latest release titled Pill Wonder which was recently released absolutely free for download and also can be purchased for only five dollars in two various formats (cassette or hand packed mini cds). This album is a wonderland of experimental synth pop at it’s finest with the two playing their vocal parts over some of the most creative mixtures of electronic and organic sounds I’ve heard all year. Programmed drums and keys share the stage with trombone and flute parts mixing future and past sounds into a harmonious handshake. Be sure to read the story of how the album was made while scoping out places to download here for some interesting insights into the albums recording and if at first you aren’t turned on by their sounds on your first listen give it a second chance. I can promise you that you won’t regret it.

Other Jaded Hipster Choir info found here

http://jadedhipsterchoir.bandcamp.com/

http://pillweekend.tumblr.com/

http://www.last.fm/music/Jaded+Hipster+Choir