I am surrounded by darkness and as I reach my hands out before me all I can feel is the hundreds of pairs of wet slick fleshy lips. Their grinding teeth are invading my mind like the sound of fingernails creeping their way down an endless chalkboard. I have no idea how I found myself trapped here. I fell asleep early with the noise of the television muted and with my eyes closed I allowed the cinema of lights projecting their colors to play against my eyelids. I awoke on a bed made of a mixture of soft skin and roughly chapped lips that pressed against my arm and face. They spoke no words to me. Those silent lips were hiding those grinding gnashing teeth and torturing me with what my future may hold. My hands shook in the darkness as I finally was able to fish my father’s old Zippo from my pocket. I struck it once, twice, and finally a third time before the flame flickered and I was frozen in fear when I saw that all of those mouths held grins.

I was already excited to hear more from Blood Diamonds after being addicted to Heart upon my first listen so when Grins came along I was all over that as well. Now the single is set to be released through Transparent Records on a brand new slab of 7″ vinyl and the folks there were kind enough to post up this stunning remix from another of my recent favorite artists Deptford Goth who is set to release his debut EP Youth II on Merok Records. After already turning in superb remixes for Purity Ring and Computer Magic, Deptford Goth brings his signature touch to Grins and what a touch it is. Snares and cymbals rush and tap over familiar elements from the original with deep bass thuds and synth waves. Things break down to virtually nothing allowing the vocal to ring out clear before the track tugs you back in with hand claps and drums framing electronic razorblade sharp lines. Have a listen to the remix here and be on the lookout for both the Grins 7″ on Monday and the Youth II EP on October 17th.

Blood Diamonds – Grins (Deptford Goth Remix)

Other Blood Diamonds info found here

Myspace

Soundcloud

Facebook

Other Deptford Goth info found here

Myspace

Twitter

Soundcloud